Colorado Rubber

Colorado’s and Utah’s Authoritative Voice of Hockey

Taking Liberties With… Quentin Shore


Position: Forward, University of Denver
Hometown: Denver
Age: 22
Height/Weight: 6-foot-1, 185 pounds
Last Youth Team: Colorado Thunderbirds 18U AAA
Last Junior Team: U.S. National Team Development Program (NTDP)

Colorado Rubber: What advice do you have for a young hockey player and his/her parents?
Quentin Shore: I think if you look at my family’s success, it all comes from the hard work we’ve put in. The countless hours we spend together on the ice, trying to get our games better, that’s probably the most important thing. Every time you get on the ice, you have to want to get better. If you focus on that, good things will happen and everything will work out.

CR: What is your game-day routine?
QS: Normally, I get up and go to Jamba Juice with a couple guys on the team, get a smoothie and some oatmeal. Then we have our pre-game skate, which is usually 20-30 minutes and after that, we have a good meal that the team makes for us – chicken, pasta and some soup. After that, I go home and play “Call of Duty” or some video games for about an hour, maybe two. Then I take a quick 20-minute nap and then get up and go to the rink.

CR: What is your favorite sport outside hockey and why?
QS: It’s hard to narrow it down. I’m a sports fanatic and I basically love all sports. Whether it’s playing basketball or golf, or lacrosse or football with some guys in the family, we basically play everything. Whatever season is in play, I enjoy that the most.

CR: What was your favorite/best hockey moment before playing at Denver?
QS: For sure, it was winning gold at the World Under-18 Championships with my Under-18 Team at the NTDP. That was something really special and something I’ll definitely always be able to remember. We were such a close group of guys and worked so hard for two years.

CR: What is the most challenging aspect of being a student-athlete?
QS: It’s time management. When you get here, it’s tough to handle your school work with hockey, but you figure out how to do things and when you really have to sit down and break out your school work – something I struggled with at the beginning. Once you figure it out and get your routine and schedule down, it rolls pretty smoothly.

CR: If you weren’t playing hockey, what would you be doing?
QS: I’m a finance major and I enjoy looking at finances and stuff like that, so I would hope I’d be working with some financial firm doing something with that.

CR: What is your favorite vacation spot and why?
QS: I’d probably say Las Vegas, just because I love the food they have there and you don’t get better people watching than you do in Vegas. Obviously, the weather is nice and I’ve played some unbelievable golf courses there as well. The golfing is incredible.

CR: Who was the player you most idolized growing up and why?
QS: The ones I idolized were the ones I wasn’t trying to play like, but basically, it was all the superstars on the Avs during their Stanley Cup runs – Patrick Roy, Ray Bourque, Peter Forsberg, Joe Sakic. All those guys were my favorite players growing up and it was so cool to be in Colorado when they were winning Cups. I try and model my game more like Jordan Staal or someone like that.

CR: What’s the one thing people should know about you?
QS: I’m not really sure. I’m kind of an open book. I think people know basically everything.

Photo/DU Athletics

– Compiled by Matt Mackinder

Free Website Hit Counter
Free website hit counter