Colorado Rubber

Colorado’s and Utah’s Authoritative Voice of Hockey

Grizzlies’ Boucher tabbed ECHL Rookie of the Year for ’20-21 season


The ECHL on Monday announced that Matthew Boucher of the Utah Grizzlies has been named ECHL Rookie of the Year and the recipient of the John A. Daley Memorial Trophy. 

The award is presented annually to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the ECHL as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members.

The trophy was named in honor of John A. Daley in 1997. Daley, who passed away in 1996, was one of the founding fathers of the ECHL, serving as general manger and minority owner of the Johnstown Chiefs from the inception of the team in 1988 until 1994. 

Dean Stewart of Wichita finished second, followed by Wichita’s Evan Weninger, Joseph Garreffa of Orlando and Wichita’s Jay Dickman

Boucher, who was named to the ECHL All-Rookie Team last week, leads ECHL rookies with 25 goals and 52 points and was fifth with 27 assists. His 209 shots on goal lead first-year players while he is tied for second with four power-play goals and tied for fourth with 11 power-play points.

Prior to turning pro, Boucher tallied 60 points (31 goals, 29 assists) in 57 career games at the University of New Brunswick and had 192 points (96 goals, 96 assists) in 241 career games in the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League with Blainville-Boisbriand, Drummondville and Quebec.

Photo/Utah Grizzlies Photography

(June 7, 2021)

Free Website Hit Counter
Free website hit counter